New Year, New Ideas

And yet none of them seem to result in any actual writing. Well, I tell a lie. I have written a little, it’s just never as much as I would like to do. Mostly, I have been considering stories that are in the public domain. I’m not entirely sure as to why I have been considering these stories, apart from the idea of writing with these characters interests me. Yes, it may just be glorified fan-fiction, but on the other hand, if it’s well written is there really anything to complain about there? Fan-fiction is, after all, undertaken due to love of a media product and people put the effort in for no reward other than perhaps others saying that they like the work.

I’ve also found myself considering the works of Shakespeare. Here’s a thing; I really enjoy Shakespeare’s work, even if there’s only a small handful that I actively watch or read again and again. I am well aware that the language, however, can be a major disadvantage when trying to appeal to a modern audience. Which is a pity really because if there is one thing that Shakespeare really understood, it was how to tell a good story. He knew his characters as more than just characters written down on a page, they were people fully realised, and audiences delighted in seeing what would happen to them.

There’s a correlation between these two wonderings of mine, and it’s something I’ve been thinking on for a while. My all time favourite Shakespeare play is Much Ado About Nothing, and what is that but the layout of a modern day rom-com? Could I do a modern version of it? The characters can stand on their own; they’re not so encrusted in their setting that removing them from it would remove all that we love. But would aspects of the story work now, in our modern thinking society? Maybe. Probably. I couldn’t really say for certain – though some web series adaptations of classic literature show that yes, yes these stories do work well in contemporary times.

Would it work for me though? … Guess I’ll just need to find out.

Leave a Reply

